PTVN Days – Faces of Parenting Series

PTVN - 2012-03-12-faces-of-parenting-bruno-cicirelloBruno Cicirello in Space Coast, FL

Author: Parent Network

Faces of Parenting, North America: What city and state do you live in?

Bruno Cicirello: Space Coast, FL

How many children do you have and their ages?

BC: Adela, 6 months

Is your parenting created in a partnership, multi-generational, or single household?

BC: My wife and I…with extra love from visiting family and friends. Before moving to the Space Coast we lived in Seattle and with my family mainly in Peru, and my wife’s family mainly on the East Coast, the day-to-day parenting has been solely our priority. It’s a lot of work as moms and dads know – the good type of work – enjoying every single moment. Adela inspired our move to the Space Coast. We wanted to be closer to family so they could be part of her development and growth, even if just for a week at a time: great grandma, grand parents, aunts, uncles and cousins. The more the merrier.

Parenting is a full time job, do you have another job or career that you balance? On top of this, are you active in a group or club as well?

BC: In addition to being a full time father, I am an account manager for a company that offers prototyping and manufacturing solutions. I enjoy silkscreening and while in Seattle volunteered for the silkscreen committee at The Vera Project, an all-ages nonprofit organization. In Florida, I’ll be volunteering with beach care and conservation groups with my daughter. Being involved and giving back to the community is vey important to us.

What structures or routines do you have in place that give your family life functionality?

BC: We are still figuring this out! With Adela being our first and only at 6 months, her needs are definitely tended to and this is important for her developing trust and confidence. It’s surprising to see how strong she is physically, how she communicates and how much she’s already learned from being around adults who engage with her continually. As for ”life and work” projects that need to be completed, sometimes this means an extra early morning or an extra late night for my wife or I.

Are you an outdoor or indoor family? Is a relationship with the environment (urban or natural) a priority in cultivating the minds of your children?

BC: Definitely an outdoor family who enjoys quality indoor time. The outdoors for us has to be the right type of outdoors. We lived in Seattle, WA for so many years – beautiful outdoors – yet we never really connected with it especially during the long, rainy season. For me, outdoors equals sun and beach and already my daughter and I have splashed in the ocean together. As soon as she is able to walk, a surfboard is next! Teaching her to have a relationship with the natural environment is imperative, there are so many opportunities for showing a child how to be gentle, how to respect, how to be disciplined (i.e. hold onto that bottle till there’s a trash or recycle bin!), how to relate without saying a word.

What is the biggest challenge you face as a parent?

BC: Adela is a wonderful (easy) baby. She has been a team player since the early days of my wife’s pregnancy; during her home birth; throughout our road trip across America…the challenge is time. My definition of time management has been taken to a whole new level and no book or article could have prepared me for that. When I’m with Adela, I’m not doing anything else, and before I know it the day is gone, the night is gone, and my to-do list is bigger!

If you could change any government policy or attitude that affects your family or the future of your children, what would it be?

BC: The fact that government is not separated from corporations is a major issue, especially when it comes to the Food and Drug Administration and the industrialization of farms. When governing bodies control the capacity for health among its people, everyone of all ages are affected not only physically, but mentally and emotionally as well.

On the topic of food: organic or whatever’s-on-sale? Do you have an opinion on the industrialization of food that affects farmers, consumer options, and school cafeterias?

BC: Organic 100%. We love to support small and organic local farmers.

Do you take time out of each day (or week) for yourself? How do you ensure this time (or appointment with yourself) is honored?

BC: Yes! It may not be every day, but at least once or twice a week I jog, or surf, or work on a creative project. My wife and I have synergy on this parenting journey, so it’s a matter of just speaking it out loud and then we make it happen.

What was your own childhood like and does it inform your parenting style today?

BC: I had an interesting childhood. My parents were detached – very young, inexperienced, dealing with their own complexities and they divorced when I was two years old. My mother was a hard-working woman who loved me of course, but suffered from anxiety and depression, as well as drug and alcohol use. My father disappeared after the divorce and had drug problems, so he was not involved with my upbringing and to this day is estranged. My grandparents (on both sides) are the ones who raised me steadily, gave me the connection that I needed, and the fond memories that I have today. My aunt and uncle also took me in for long periods of time and while I’m an only child, my three cousins are like brothers to me to this day. I consider my aunt and uncle great role models from their support and generosity throughout my childhood. So does my childhood influence my parenting style? Absolutely!

We all deal with some negative impacts of childhood or growth experiences, but as parents it’s important to clear these, let them go…have them disappear. In my life today, nothing from the past can interfere with my ability to be supportive to my wife and grateful for my daughter; it’s simple really when the business of life quiets down, what I want is to listen to her, to laugh with her and to hold her if she’s scared.

More about Bruno: Bruno Cicirello grew up by the ocean in Lima, Peru and is continually inspired by the vivid colors, landscapes and simplicity of his childhood. When he’s not working as an account manager during the day, he enjoys spending time with his wife and daughter playing music, swimming and BBQ-ing in the back yard.

True To The Core: Dads Give Us A Reality Check On Parenting

About MB

Of all the choices I've made in life, the one that has had a lasting wonderment about it has been to toss out any emphasis on living in a material world. Dropping out of the chattel race in America opens up the extraordinary. Rock on, fellow drop outs. Oh, and motherhood is the greatest journey ever! heartyup@gmail.com

Posted on June 11, 2012, in PTVN and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on PTVN Days – Faces of Parenting Series.

Comments are closed.

